Sunday, December 17, 2017

Blood's Song by Tempeste O'Riley - Blog Tour with Excerpt and Guest Post



Title: Blood’s Song
Author: Tempeste O’Riley
Series: House Millar books, #1
Genre: LGBTQ Romance, Paranormal Romance, Vampires, Urban Fantasy, Young Adult / New Adult
Publisher: Encompass Ink, Teen
Release Date: Nov, 24th, 2017

Edition/Formats Available In: eBook & Print 


Synopsis:
Even in darkness, love lights the way.

Anya awakens alone and afraid in a new world soaked with blood and terror. The only things she knows for certain are her name and that humans are precious.

Unwilling to give in to her hungers, she sets her feet upon a path of discovery, searching for clues to her forgotten past. Along the way she runs headlong into the unimaginable world of the undead and the waiting arms of Nicholas, a fearless nocturnal defender searching for his love, lost in eternity.

Into their midst stumbles Declán, a young, natural born vampire hunter and Guardian whose passion for Anya is only matched by his draw to Nicholas. His arrival could mark the end of their tale, or with the gift of Anya's blood kiss, it might bring about the beginning of a new chapter for them all.

Fate has a wicked sense of sensibility…

 Book Links


Excerpt 

“You want me to go to a party? With you and your humans? Really?” His eyes were wide as he stared at me.

“You don’t have to go. I won’t be upset if you don’t feel comfortable....” I trailed off, silenced by his strange look.

“Anya, relax, please. I’m just surprised you’d want me to meet your humans.”

“You do not feed on humans, so why not? I mean, I know what you said, and your eyes back up your words.” I had yet to see the killer type’s eyes, but Star’s description of the blackness taking over even the white part, not merely the colored part, did nothing to make me want to seek one out. “Declán is excited at the thought of balancing out the estrogen with another male.” I couldn’t contain my smile at the memory of his face when Declán had spoken.

“That’s not what I meant. I would never endanger one of your friends! It was more the idea of you willingly introducing me, to share your humans. Aren’t you worried about what they will notice if they see me next to you?”

The strange mixture of confusion and intrigue charmed me.

“What they would see? Do you mean because our features are so similar?”

He nodded.

“We hardly adhere to the general vampire lore. Not to mention, even if they did suspect such a thing of us, we don’t have large fangs hanging out of our mouths or dress anachronistically. I even lack the ridiculous coffin that seems so common in their myths,” I explained, certain having a pale friend wouldn’t be a problem, other than possibly if one of them developed a crush on him.

“Besides, I don’t speak loud enough for them to be affected by my voice or for them to really even hear the unusual ring to it.”

“True. Well, I suppose you can count me in then. Your friend Declán, he isn’t the jealous type, I hope? I have an unfortunate habit of turning heads.” A slight sour note tainted his voice by the end.

“Well, he is dating Skye, so make sure you are thoughtful when interacting with her. His sister is Kayla. I would say be considerate of how you relate to her, as well. He’s a bit protective of them.”

“I don’t get involved with humans.”

A decidedly wary look crossed his face suddenly. “Star has warned you about getting involved with one of them, hasn’t she? Romantically, physically I mean?” he asked, suddenly on his knees, towering over me.

“Um, we haven’t discussed romance or intimacy. Star mentioned she is not like us and left it at that. Why?”



 




First, let me say hello to you and all your wonderful readers. (waves) 😉





Now, let me try answering this simple, yet not question. You see, as many know, I have children. Six bio, plus a step, a DIL, etc. Plus I remember how confusing, painful, and just plain hard it was to be a teen. So even though my main focus has been writing homoerotic romance, I never lost sight of also wanting there to be things my kids could read and see themselves in—ignoring the paranormal bits, lol. But I also wanted to write what I wish there had been for me to read when I was a teen. You see, I have loved to read since I was little. My mother has a few reading awards from the library programs of mine to prove it. But it was all either no romance, violent/abusive, rapey, and/or het (bodice ripper or no). The closest things I found were the likes of Interview with a Vampire and Rice’s later books in that series (very homoerotic even if there’s only ever het sex in it the one-time Lestat gets to have sex :/ so annoying!) and others that skirted the lines. But… those weren’t teen books! Not really.

And then there was the issue of my own children fussing that they weren’t allowed to read my writings. If I was “nice” I’d write something that they could read. So, fingers to keyboard, Anya, Declan, and Nicholas were born. I hadn’t intended this to be a f/m/m story, exactly, but I want to show all kinds of love, all kinds of people and pairing, so who am I to judge my characters and their choices? As the series moves forward, there will be m/m, trans m/f, and more. So you just never know how the vampires and their loves will match, but that once they love, it’s eternal.

Oh, and I have a series love of the fanged and fabulous, LOL. I blame Louie!


About the Author


Tempeste O’Riley is an out and proud pansexual genderfluid whose best friend growing up had the courage to do what they couldn’t—defy the hate and come out. He has been their hero ever since.

Tempe is a hopeless romantic who loves strong relationships and happily-ever-afters. Though new to writing M/M, they has done many things in their life, yet writing has always drawn them back—no matter what else life has thrown their way. They counts her friends, family, and Muse as their greatest blessings in life. They lives in Wisconsin with their children, reading, writing, and enjoying life.

Tempe is also a proud PAN member of Romance Writers of America®WisRWA, FFPRWA, and Rainbow Romance Writers. Tempe’s preferred pronouns are they/them/their/theirs/themselves.

To learn more about Tempeste and their writing, visit http://tempesteoriley.com.


Author Links


Other Works by Tempeste O’Riley

Desires Entwined Series

Designs of Desire * Simple Desires * Bound by Desire
Desires’ Guardian * Desires’ Pride
Temptations of Desire * Truth in Lace
Signs of Desire

Chain of Fate Series

Whiskers of a Chance
Fangs with a Heart

House Millar Series

Blood’s Voice

Standalone Titles

Caged Sanctuary
Dreamers’ Destiny
Grand Adventures (Simple Desires)
Hope and Love Anthology
Turn the Page….


A Holiday To Remember Presented by Mischief Corner Books - Book Blitz with Guest Post and Giveaway

A Holiday to Remember banner


For the first time, Mischief Corner Books is releasing a month-long collection of holiday-themed tales:


Traditional Winter Holidays can be tough for a variety of reasons—family pressures, finding the right gift, homesick longing, and haunting memories to name a few. This collection showcases eleven queer short stories, from tender contemporaries to sweet paranormal to far-flung space tales, all designed to make you want to reach for your hot cocoa and your favorite snuggly spot. Come join us for A Holiday To Remember.



A Holiday to Remember - All Covers




Giveaway:


Rainbow Beanie - AHTR Prize


For this tour, Mischief Corner Books is giving away two $25 gift certificates to their eBook store, and two rainbow beanies. To enter, just use the rafflecopter here, or below:





Guest Post: Why We Love Holiday Shorts
(stories, not clothing)
Jill Wexler


Raise your hand if you cannot stand the original Grinch special.  Okay, you can walk away now.  Or stay and get Grinchy with me – no matter, I’m going to still ramble.

People love the Grinch special, and the Peanuts specials, and all the other cute holiday shows for one basic reason…they are quick little snippets of holiday cheer. 

Quick being the operative word.

Look.  The holidays can be overwhelming, especially since the Christmas season starts somewhere in January now (kidding…it’s July…whatever, you get my point).  And the pressure begins to build about shopping, parties, presents, trees, ornaments, that Very Special Tradition whatever it may be.  Making sure that your holiday matches everyone else’s holiday on social media (no, I have never posted pics of decorated cookies in an attempt to prove my holiday worth…why would you think that?).

And the next thing you know, you’re standing in the paper goods aisle at the store, filled with shopping cart rage, trying to understand why exactly you needed paper plates with holly around the edges and the store only has paper plates with reindeer on them and at that point, you’re considering chucking the entire season into the garbage disposal and locking yourself into a cabinet until January.

I may or may not have been in that situation a time or five.

But when you hit the check-out line, you grab a candy bar as a quick pick me up to get yourself through (and maybe to reward yourself for not slamming your cart into someone else’s).

It’s not a full on dessert.  It doesn’t require utensils or preparation.  It doesn’t require commitment to see it through.  There is no clean up afterward (unless you pick up something chocolatey and then take your sweet time while you’re sitting in the hot sun).

It’s a candy bar.  Or whatever small treat you’ve grabbed.

Or you sit down to watch a quick holiday special on tv.  It’s short and sweet and reminds you of the holiday spirit (that you’ve nearly forgotten because of the shopping cart rage).  The holiday specials on tv make you feel happy because they don’t ask you to commit beyond a short period of time.  It starts, you smile, maybe laugh, it’s over.  Bam.  You feel good and not so Grinchy anymore.

Know what else is a quick pick-me-up?  Short stories. 

Short stories are just perfect for those “ugh give me something sweet and non-demanding” times.  Quick and easy and I don’t have to rearrange my schedule for them.  Carpool line?  Doctor’s appointment?  Waiting on your kid’s holiday program to freakin’ start because you had to get there an hour early in order to get a seat? Grab a short story.  My Kindle is filled with them for moments when I don’t really have the time to get invested in a novel, or maybe I need a quick break from a novel.  Or life. 

And holiday short stories are just the best treats to consume in one sitting (and no calories or commercials!). 

In fact, the other day, I downed two holiday shorts and was able to look at my kids and say “let’s tackle the lights tomorrow, we’ve got this!” 







Story Blurbs & Info


Watermelon KissesWatermelon Kisses
by Freddy McKay

11/29/2017


Life hasn't been easy for Amir since he fled Iran after a brutal imprisonment. The trauma experienced at the hands of the guards left a dark spot on his soul. The one constant in his life since relocating to Chicago has been his lover—now husband—Esmail, whose steadfast love and support has soothed his wounded heart.


But this Shab-e Yalda, Amir wants to be the one giving his husband something special, because even after the darkest nights, the sun will rise again.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/watermelon-kisses.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07767LJM2
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/watermelon-kisses/id1307937583?mt=11
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/watermelon-kisses


Freddy grew up in the Midwest, playing sports and running around outside. And honestly, that much has not changed since Freddy was small and throwing worms at other kids, except worm throwing has been replaced with a healthy geocaching addiction. Freddy enjoys traveling and holds the view a person should continually to learn about new things and people whenever possible.


Freddy's contemporary LGBTQ book, Incubation: Finding Peace 2, won 3rd Place - Best Gay Erotic Fiction in the 2012 Rainbow Awards. In 2013, Freddy's story, Internment, tied for 3rd Place - Best Gay Fantasy in the Rainbow Awards. Freddy's steampunk/SF story, Feel Me, was a Finalist and honorable mention in the 2014 Rainbow Awards for SF. And in 2015, Freddy's urban fantasy Snow on Spirit Bridge was also a Finalist and honorable mention.


For more information on Freddy's work, please visit or email:


Website: Freddy's Stereograph
Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/FreddyMacKay
Email: freddy.m.mackay@gmail.com




But to Love MoreBut To Love More
F.B. Cassidy

12/2/17


Mel finally gets to go home for Christmas. In his absence, his hometown has changed, and Carlos, his best friend’s little brother, is all grown up and interested in a relationship. But Carlos has his work cut out for him since Mel's having trouble seeing past the little brother part and his big brother, Aldo's determined to keep them apart.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/but-to-love-more.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07767LHRH
https://itunes.apple.com/gb/book/but-to-love-more/id1308019216?mt=11
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/but-to-love-more


Foster Bridget Cassidy is a rare, native Phoenician who enjoys hot desert air and likes to wear jackets in summer. She has wanted to be a fiction writer since becoming addicted to epic fantasy during high school. Since then, she’s studied the craft academically—at Arizona State University—and as a hobby—attending conventions and workshops around the country. A million ideas float in her head, but it seems like there’s never enough time to get them all down on paper.


Website: https://fosterbridgetcassidy.wordpress.com/




Corey's Christmas BundleCorey's Christmas Bundle (Atherton Pack 5)
Toni Griffin
12/6/2017


Being pregnant is not all it’s cracked up to be, especially when you’re male and a shifter. Even though the world now knows about wolf shifters, their male’s ability to bare young is still a closely guarded secret. Since Corey's pregnancy is now visible, he's been stuck at home working on code and waiting for company to drop by. Problem is, though, the human government wants to know where Corey is.


As Christmas and Corey’s due date draw ever nearer, Ben devises a plan that will not only get Corey out of the house, but allows the wolves of Atherton Pack to give the community some Christmas cheer.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/coreys-christmas-bundle.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07767KDTR
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/coreys-christmas-bundle/id1308017697?mt=11
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/corey-s-christmas-bundle


Toni Griffin lives in Darwin, the smallest of Australia’s capital cities. Born and raised in the state she’s a Territorian through and through. Growing up Toni hated English with a passion (as her editors can probably attest to) and found her strength lies with numbers.


Now, though, she loves escaping to the worlds she creates and hopes to continue to do so for many years to come. She’s a single mother of one and works full time. When she’s not writing you can just about guarantee that she will be reading one of the many MM authors she loves. Feel free to drop her a line at info@tonigriffin.net anytime.


For more information about Toni's work, please visit:

Website: http://tonigriffin.net
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/toni.griffin.author




Safety Protocols for Human HolidaysSafety Protocols For Human Holidays
Angel Martinez
12/9/2017


As a security officer on an interspecies ship, Growlan Raskli's experienced in heading off species-specific aberrant behaviors in order to keep the peace. But when her captain asks her to find out what's bothering their sole human crew member, Raskli's out of her depths. She hardly knows anything about humans and she's not a psych doctor.


Something's definitely upset Human Jen, something to do with human holidays. The more time Raskli spends studying humans and interacting with the intriguing Human Jen, the more personal the assignment becomes. Determined to lift the dark cloud from Human Jen, Raskli will do whatever it takes—within safe parameters, of course.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/saftey-protocols-for-human-holidays.htmlhttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B0776H1DZM/
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/safety-protocols-for-human-holidayshttps://itunes.apple.com/us/book/safety-protocols-for-human-holidays/id1308094310?mt=11


While Angel Martinez is the erotic fiction pen name of a writer of several genres, she writes both kinds of queer fiction – Science Fiction and Fantasy. Currently living part time in the hectic sprawl of northern Delaware, (and full time inside the author's head) Angel has one husband, one son, two cats, a changing variety of other furred and scaled companions, a love of all things beautiful and a terrible addiction to the consumption of both knowledge and chocolate.

For more information on Angel’s work, please visit:


Website: Erotic Fiction for the Hungry Mind
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Angel.Martinez.author
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/1010469.Angel_Martinez
Email: angelmartinezauthor@gmail.com




Secrets & SilkSecrets & Silk
Nicole Dennis

12/13/2017


Quiet, strait-laced David Appleton thinks he’s going to have a problem at work. A new co-worker discovered his secret in the locker room. Unable to confront someone, David let him walk away. Now he worries everyone will know his deepest held secret. A secret hidden under his signature vest, tie, and trousers.


Since walking in on his co-worker, CJ O’Connell tries to get a moment to speak with the shy David, but nothing works. His last hope—the Secret Santa Gift Exchange party. Perhaps a special gift can peel away the secrets.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/secrets--silk.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07767S6XC
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/secrets-silk
https://itunes.apple.com/ca/book/secrets-silk/id1308018662?mt=11


A quiet one, Nicole Dennis curled up with the latest book of a favorite author. Since the beginning, there were these characters in her head, worlds wanting to be built on paper, and stories wanting to be told. She began writing during class and continues to this day. Now she can let others into her imagination and worlds that always celebrate the love between two or more people within LGBT, paranormal, and fantasy.


During the day, she works in a quiet office in Central Florida, where she also makes her home, and enjoys the down time to slip into her imagination. She is owned by a semi-demonic tortie calico, affectionately known as Fat Cat.

For more information on Nicole, please visit:


Facebook: www.facebook.com/NicoleDennis.Author
Blog: http://nicoledennisauthor.blogspot.com
Website: http://nicoledennisauthor.com
Email: nicoledennis.author@gmail.com
GoodreadsQ&A with Nicole Dennis: http://www.goodreads.com/group/show/50397-q-a-with-nicole-dennis
Goodreads Profile: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/2791975.Nicole_Dennis




Winter HomeWinter Home
Kassandra Lea
12/16/17


It's Christmastime and the snow is falling. Restoring an old Victorian manor has been keeping contractor Brett Hawkins busy. The project's meant to be complete by Christmas, but there's no way he can get it done in time, especially with the big day right around the corner.


Meanwhile, his beloved Manuel Aguilar is grappling with depression, and he's consumed by guilt that it's kept him from putting up the decorations. But his biggest concern is that he may be ruining the holiday for Brett. As Manny struggles, unable to recognize his own courage in every small gain, Brett has a surprise that may help break depression's hold.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/winter-home.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07769VJ4T
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/winter-home
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/winter-home/id1308019153?mt=11


I have my mom to thank for so much. First of all, she fostered a love of reading. According to her I've been reading since I could hold a book and I got my first library card at age 3. Growing up I used to read 100 books a year, but of course, that doesn't happen as often since there's writing to do and a day job.


Secondly, I have to thank her for always pushing me to keep chasing my dream of being an author. Who else am I going to bounce ideas off of, and she helps me when I get stuck. Suppose you could say she's my biggest fan.


When I'm not writing I enjoy time with my dog, tending my garden, baking sweet treats, walking through crunchy fall leaves and blankets of cold snow, playing video games, and reading! I've a fondness for horses and blankets (is it possible to own too many?)


And yes, some days I still wish I was Batman. For more information about Kassandra and her work, please visit:


Twitter: https://twitter.com/cheddarsgal
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7369580.Kassandra_Lea
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/leakassie/




Christmas Eve Craigslist KillerChristmas Eve Craigslist Killer
Jill Wexler
12/18/17


The public library's computer geek, aka Travis, is content skirting the edges of social interaction. He's fully committed to being a boring, twenty-something IT guy who likes his office more than people, a guy someone like Connor would never fall for. Connor, who works on the library floor as a page, is outgoing, social, and charming and everything else that stands for "fun."


An interaction between the two at the library on Christmas Eve has Travis accidentally mentioning that he failed to find this year's hottest toy for his nephew. Immediately, Connor goes on a quick hunt online, and finds one. The only problem is that the Craigslist seller is hours away and Travis is sure spending hours in a car with quirky, handsome Connor can only end badly.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/the-christmas-eve-craigslist-killer.html
https://www.amazon.com/Christmas-Eve-Cragislist-Killer-Remember-ebook/dp/B077CRWTT1
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/the-christmas-eve-craigslist-killer
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1312656296


Jill started writing back in the day of notebook paper and erasable pens (blue ink is best), when her mom’s typewriter was out of ribbon. Then she graduated to a word processing program in MS-DOS, then WordPerfect. Her computer sadly caught the Blue Screen of Death and all was lost. She stopped writing for an extremely long time, because “life.”


She lives in the upper Bible Belt, rolls her eyes a lot and drinks enough wine to consider it a sacrifice to the gods that her kids won’t need too much therapy down the road.


A while back, Jill picked up writing again with a woman’s site and the writing fever spiked. But she’s actually new to publishing, so there may or may not have been more wine involved recently (only one glass was harmed in the making of this story and it was a mason jar so…bygones).


Articles: http://suburbanmisfitmom.com/writer/jill-wexler/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jill.Wexler73Email: Jillwexler73@gmail.com




New BeginningsNew Beginnings
Jayne Lockwood
12/20/17


Nick is not looking forward to his second Christmas without Sammi, his gorgeous ex-fiancee. She left him on New Year’s Eve, a week after their engagement, and he still doesn’t know why.


A chance meeting whilst out Christmas shopping reveals that Sammi is now Sam, a transgender man. As the reasons behind their break-up become clearer, Nick cannot make sense of his new feelings. He is shocked by the deep attraction he still has to Sam, and what that says about himself.


It will take Nick's straight-talking family, and Sam’s guiding hand, to help him discover that gender is no barrier to love.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/new-beginnings.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077GK88WH
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/new-beginnings-117
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1313603446


Jayne Lockwood has been writing for most of her life, starting with really bad poetry as a teenager, usually railing against nuclear war (it was the 1970's.) There followed a couple of novels, long since consigned to flames (probably just as well, TBH,) and the hazy idea that maybe one day, she would get something published. Her first successful writing assignment was for the college newspaper of the County College of Morris, in Randolph, New Jersey, where she studied Journalism.


Since then, Jayne has been involved in projects closer to home, working closely with other authors to continue to develop their writing. Two pieces of her prose can be found in Chalk Road, a collaborative anthology from local writers, sponsored by Wycombe District Council, and she has invariably been involved in a writing group, as well as running a local book group.


She has also had five Black Lace titles published by Virgin Books, under the pseudonym, Savannah Smythe, and has collaborated with glamour celebrity, Abi Titmuss, to produce 10 Fantasies, Abi's collection of short stories.


Jayne has also published three M/M erotica stories, Lexington Black, Docklands Diamond and My Boyfriend Is A Dog, under S A Smythe. In addition to that, she writes book reviews for WROTE Podcast, a forum for LGBTQ readers and writers. She helped set up the podcast in 2015 with fellow writers, S A Collins (sacollins.com) and Vance Bastian (vancebastian.com) and is proud to say the podcast is going from strength to strength.


The Cloud Seeker is Jayne's first mainstream novel, and draws upon her background as a Chilterns woman and her affection for the US, where she lived for two years.


Soon after, she rediscovered the very first manuscript she started back in 1996. After many hours of updating, it was finally published on Amazon. Closer Than Blood is a tale of hit men, blackmail and forbidden passion, set in Manhattan. Both novels are currently available as ebook and paperback, from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Smashwords and many on-line book retailers.


She always has at least one novel in the background, and at the present time she is working on her first science fiction novel, working title Euphoria, based on the nuclear bunker near where she lives.


For more information about Jayne and her work, please visit:

Website: https://hollowhillspublishing.blogspot.com/




A Piece of OurselvesA Piece Of Ourselves
Tray Ellis
12/23/2017


Balancing holidays between two families can make cheerful celebrations into chores. Carson Benedetti's mom has overscheduled the Christmas holidays and she's more than insistent that boyfriend Tynan Harris come into the family fold. There's so much to do Tynan can't find time to bring Carson over to his own family and he feels like they are being left in the dust.


After dating for nine months, and with their relationship becoming more serious, Tynan's patience is sorely tested by the multitude of Benedetti family traditions keeping them busy. Tynan needs to figure out how to find some breathing room, split their time more fairly, and make Christmas more than just tradition by rote.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/a-piece-of-ourselves.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077L6Z9SZ/
https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/a-piece-of-ourselves/id1315340653
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077L6Z9SZ/
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/a-piece-of-ourselves


Tray Ellis grew up across from an empty field, where she spun a lot of imaginary adventures, helping to prepare her for a lifetime of writing. When she isn’t writing, she stays active by hiking, cooking, stacking the odd cord of wood in the shed, baking, and being too busy to keep her home in any semblance of order. Currently she tries to find a balance between the logical way she thinks and the flights of fancy she often daydreams about. Mostly, the daydreams are winning.

For more information about Tray, please visit:


Website: https://trayellis.dreamwidth.org
Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6564767.Tray_Ellis




I Only Want to Be With YouI Only Want to Be With You
Scott Coatsworth
12/27/2017


Derrek is dealing with the recent, unexpected death of his mother. He’s been alone for five year since his husband Will died, and he’s ready to find someone new and to start living again. Ryan lost his partner, David, in an auto accident, and is dating Alex, who doesn’t treat him right.


Derrek can’t figure out why Ryan won’t see what’s right in front of his face. Why does Ryan come to him to talk about all his hopes, dreams, and fears, then go home to Alex?

If Derrek can figure that out, they might just have a shot.


Buy Links:

https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/i-only-want-to-be-with-you.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077NG49G1
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/i-only-want-to-be-with-you


Scott is the admin for the Queer Sci Fi site. He has been writing since elementary school, when he and won a University of Arizona writing contest in 4th grade for his first sci fi story (with illustrations!). He finished his first novel in his mid twenties, but after seeing it rejected by ten publishers, he gave up on writing for a while.


Over the ensuing years, he came back to it periodically, but it never stuck. Then one day, he was complaining to Mark, his husband, early last year about how he had been derailed yet again by the death of a family member, and Mark said to him "the only one stopping you from writing is you."

Since then, Scott has gone back to writing in a big way, finishing more than a dozen short stories – some new, some that he had started years before – and seeing his first sale. He's embarking on a new trilogy, and also runs a support group for writers of gay sci fi, fantasy, and supernatural fiction.


Website: http://www.jscottcoatsworth.com/
Facebook: https://facebook.com/jscottcoatsworth/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jscoatsworth




A New Year on Vega IIIA New Year On Vega III
Siri Paulson
12/30/2017


On the colony planet Vega III, everyone knows Beck—outgoing, fabulous, and genderqueer—and nobody notices Anil, the quiet plant biologist. But when Anil finds Beck hiding in his greenhouse, lonely and missing Earth, it's Anil who is able to comfort Beck by letting them talk about what they miss most—the feeling that comes with celebrating the holidays with loved ones, especially New Year's Eve.


The two of them are drawn to one another, but both of them are hiding secrets about their sexuality. With trust between them already on shaky ground, Anil's elaborate plans to cheer Beck may well backfire.


https://www.mischiefcornerbooks.com/a-new-year-on-vega-iii.html
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B077RZ6YZQ
https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/a-new-year-on-vega-iii


I write all over the fantasy and science fiction spectrum, including (so far) secondary-world fantasy, urban fantasy, steampunk, Gothic, historical paranormal, spaceships, and various unholy mashups of these.


I grew up in Alberta, Canada, but now live in an old house in Toronto. My other current passion is contra dance, a social/folk dance done to live Celtic and roots music. My favourite places in the world are the Canadian Rocky Mountains and a little valley in Norway. In my other life, I edit non-fiction for the government.

For more information, please visit or email:


Website: https://siripaulson.wordpress.com/Email: s_l_paulson@yahoo.ca























































































































































































































Saturday, December 16, 2017

Unexpected Christmas by Nell Iris - Release Blitz with Excerpt and Giveaway



Buy Links: Amazon US | Amazon UK | JMS

Length: 13,527 words

Publisher: JMS Books

Blurb

Daniel Erickson stormed out of his family celebration after choking on turkey served with a side of bigotry. Utterly miserable, he reluctantly lets himself be charmed by the hulk of a man and gets into the stranger’s car ... hoping he won’t be axed before the night is through.

Axel Wilson -- Ax for short, unfortunately -- is a sweetheart. Really. He may be badass-looking but his heart melts into goo at the mere mention of his four-year-old niece. Surely he isn’t dangerous?

Thrown together by family drama, the two men spend the evening getting to know each other. Axel is nothing like Daniel expected. But it doesn’t matter that he loves poetry, is gentle and patient -- and hot! -- Daniel is absolutely not falling in love at first sight. There’s no such thing.

Right?


Excerpt

A few minutes later, a vehicle approached from behind. Reacting instinctively, I turned around and waved my arms, hoping the big truck would stop and have mercy on my freezing ass.

I let out a giddy yelp as it slowed down, but it got stuck in my throat when the driver rolled down the window.

He was huge and couldn't hold his head upright without banging it on the ceiling. Big steel gauges adorned both his ears -- at least an inch and a half wide -- and his hair was black and so closely cropped it resembled a five o'clock shadow more than an actual haircut.

"You need a ride?" he asked and his voice was deeper than the Mariana Trench, perfectly matching his frightening appearance. Black tattoos crept up his neck and snaked down his hands below his sleeves. His shoulders were wide, his muscles strained the sleeves of his thick black jacket, and his cheeks were hollow. I was one second from shitting myself.

"I'm not riding with a serial killer!" The words slipped out of my mouth and I groaned. I couldn't have kept my mouth shut for five fucking seconds to avoid being chopped up and thrown to the wolves?

He threw his head back and let out a thunderous laugh.

"What's so goddamned funny?" I glared at him, but he didn't seem to care.

"I'm no serial killer."

"And I'm just supposed to take your fucking word for it?" I raised an eyebrow. I knew I was being combative and taking out my frustration on this stranger, but I couldn't stop myself.

"You could call my ma for references."

"Ha ha. Very funny." With a deep sigh, I resigned to my fate and started walking again. No way was I getting into a car with that mammoth of a man.

"Where you goin'?" he called after me. When I didn't bother to answer, he eased off the break and let his truck crawl after me.

I swirled around. "Stop following me, you creep," I hissed.

He let go of the steering wheel with one hand and held it up as if he surrendered. "Look, man. It's freezin'. You're wet and miserable. Get in the truck and lemme take you wherever you're goin'." His deep voice was surprisingly gentle. Non-threatening, as if he'd come to expect reactions like mine.

"I'm really not a bad guy." He stuck out his lower lip in a pout that would have made a five-year-old girl green with envy and I had to bite my lip to stop a smile from erupting.

"Really?" I tried to hang on to my mistrust, but he made it hard. His appearance screamed RUN AND HIDE, but there was something soft in his eyes that told a different story.

He shot me a crooked smile. "It was worth a try. It works on my niece every time."

The fucker knew all the right words to say to disarm me. "And how old is she?"

"Four."

I huffed out a reluctant chuckle. "Well, you know how it is. Everyone always says how they couldn't believe their neighbor was a serial killer because he seemed like such a nice guy."

His eyes grew big and round. "You're sayin' you don't trust my niece as a character witness?" He sounded as I'd just delivered the biggest insult of his life, but the amused glint in his eyes told me it was all for show.

"Can you blame me?"

"I guess not." He sighed and grew serious. "Please. I couldn't live with myself if I left you here to freeze to death."

My body screamed at me to take him up on his offer. The ice pellets were relentless and I was soaked and gloomy and was starting to feel like maybe being ax murdered wouldn't be the worst thing that could happen to me right now.

The openness in his posture and honesty in his eyes had me on the verge of caving. "You promise you won't kill me?" I sounded like a scared little kid even to my own ears.

Author Bio

Nell Iris is a romantic at heart who believes everyone deserves a happy ending. She’s a bona fide bookworm (learned to read long before she started school), wouldn’t dream of going anywhere without something to read (not even the ladies room), loves music (and singing along but let’s face it, she’s not Celine Dion), and is a real Star Trek nerd (Make it so). She loves words, poetry, wine, and Sudoku, and absolutely adores elephants!

Nell believes passionately in equality for all regardless of race, gender or sexuality, and wants to make the world a better, less hateful, place.

Nell is a 40-something bisexual Swedish woman, married to the love of her life, and a proud mama of a grown daughter. She left the Scandinavian cold and darkness for warmer and sunnier Malaysia a few years ago, where she spends her days writing, surfing the Internet, enjoying the heat, and eating good food. One day she decided to chase her life long dream of being a writer, sat down in front of her laptop, and wrote a story about two men falling in love.

Nell Iris writes gay romance, prefers sweet over angsty, and wants to write diverse and different characters.

Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Website



Hosted By Signal Boost Promotions


Friday, December 15, 2017

Operation Green Card by G.B. Gordon - Blog Tour With Giveaway



About Operation Green Card

Arkady Izmaylov is a family man. He’s also gay. In Russia. His sister Natalya has been telling him to get out for years, but it’s only after an attack in the street that he finally concedes and says yes to her desperate plan of him marrying a stranger for a green card.

Jason Cooley was taught from birth that he’s no good to anyone. Then the military taught him he was good enough to save other lives, but that purpose got amputated along with his leg. He’s now working security at Wolf’s Landing and sending monthly checks to his ex for their daughter’s education. When Natalya asks him to marry her brother, Jason knows right away he’ll do it more for the mission than the money she’s offering. But when he actually meets Arkady, his mission turns complicated.

Jason quickly discovers he’s not as straight as he thought. He’s also the man of Arkady’s dreams. Arkady must convince Jason that he’s worth loving, and that Arkady won’t disappear from his life like everyone else. Because Arkady has always wanted a family of his own, and he’s not letting go of this one.


About Bluewater Bay


Welcome to Bluewater Bay! This quiet little logging town on Washington state’s Olympic Peninsula has been stagnating for decades, on the verge of ghost town status. Until a television crew moves in to film Wolf’s Landing, a soon-to-be cult hit based on the wildly successful shifter novels penned by local author Hunter Easton.

Wolf’s Landing’s success spawns everything from merchandise to movie talks, and Bluewater Bay explodes into a mecca for fans and tourists alike. The locals still aren’t quite sure what to make of all this—the town is rejuvenated, but at what cost? And the Hollywood-based production crew is out of their element in this small, mossy seaside locale. Needless to say, sparks fly.

This collaborative story world is brought to you by eleven award-winning, best-selling LGBTQ romance authors: L.A. Witt, L.B. Gregg, Z.A. Maxfield,  Heidi Belleau, Rachel Haimowitz, Anne Tenino, Amy Lane, SE Jakes, G.B. Gordon, Jaime Samms and Ally Blue. Each contemporary novel stands alone, but all are built around the town and the people of Bluewater Bay and the Wolf’s Landing media empire.


About GB Gordon

G.B.Gordon worked as a packer, landscaper, waiter, and coach before going back to school to major in linguistics and, at 35, switch to less backbreaking monetary pursuits like translating, editing, and writing.

Having lived in various parts of the world, Gordon is now happily ensconced in suburban Ontario with the best of all husbands.

Connect with Gordon:


Giveaway

To celebrate the release of Operation Green Card, one lucky winner will receive a $10 Riptide credit! Leave a comment with your contact info to enter the contest. Entries close at midnight, Eastern time, on December 16, 2017. Contest is NOT restricted to U.S. entries. Thanks for following the tour, and don’t forget to leave your contact info!